Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

edgar561
Returning Member

State of Domicile vs temporary move

Hi all,

I have been a New Jersey resident since 2009. I moved to Pennsylvania under a temporary arrangement in August 2020, always intending to move back to NJ when the Covid crisis eases, but I didn't renew my lease in NJ (i.e. I don't have a residence / place of abode in NJ now). I got a PA driver's license under my temporary address as required by PA law. I will move to a new address in NJ once I move back, hopefully in 2021.

I would like to determine whether my tax domicile remained in NJ all the way, or if I'll need to file part-year PA resident returns for 2020 and 2021.

I don't have an agenda here (either way is fine, little difference in tax bottom line), just want to do it correctly. However, I need to know soon so I can pay estimated taxes for Q4 2020 to the correct state.

Any help is much appreciated!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

Since your intent is to return, your domicile is NJ.

If you move to a new location but intend to stay there only for a limited amount of time (no matter how long), your domicile does not change.

It sounds like your domicile is still NJ.  Your lease and drivers license are only some of the factors.  Other factors include social clubs, the location of your doctor and dentist, church, and your intentions.  Another way to think of it is that your domicile is where you have the most loyalty.