Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ckuntzman200
Returning Member

Residency status temporarily working in Virginia

I am currently living in Virginia. I will be starting a paid fellowship in Virginia later this month. The fellowship has a clear end date in June. I did the math and I will not be in Virginia for over 183 days of 2023 or 2024. After the fellowship ends, I intend to return to Michigan, which is the state I've been a resident of for most of this year.

I am currently confused as to what my Virginia residency status will be for this year. My understanding of Virginia tax laws was that I wouldn't become a resident if I wasn't in the state for over 183 days of the taxable year and if the move was never permanent, especially since I will be returning to the same address I was living at before the fellowship afterward, but somebody told me that I am considered a resident if I'm employed and don't intend to leave Virginia within 60 days. After reading the Virginia W-4 forms I am still confused. Can somebody please clarify what Virginia's residency rules are and if I should plan on filing as a nonresident or part-year resident for this year? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Opus 17
Level 15
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee