Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

taxquestion22
Returning Member

Residency status - Owning a second home in DC

Hello,

I live and work in Oregon, where I have a full-time job and own a primary residence. I purchased a studio apartment in Washington, DC in 2021. In 2023 I used the apartment for about 60 days during trips of 7-14 days at a time. Does simply owning a second home in DC mean that I am a full-year statutory resident of DC for tax purposes even if I use the home fewer than 183 each year? 

Thank you for your advice.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. Does simply owning a second home in DC mean that I am a full-year statutory resident of DC for tax purposes even if I use the home fewer than 183 each year? 

A. No. 

Why are you asking? You do not need to file a non resident DC return because you work part time there. DC is reciprocal with OR (and all other states). 

taxquestion22
Returning Member