turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am Amending Federal 2017 and 2018 tax years to include owed Capital Gains tax. During those years I was a resident of a no-Capital Gains tax state, but now am a Resident of a Capital Gains tax state- will this state now assume I owe them C-Gains tax?

Hello,

This question is actually a two-parter (it's a bit long so I apologize), and deals with the states of Florida (where I resided then during the 2017 and 2018 tax years), California (where I earned income as a Non-Resident during the 2017 and 2018 tax years), and Hawaii (where as of  2020 I now reside)...

So I am in the process of submitting Amended 2017 and 2018 Federal tax returns to account for Cryptocurrency transactions and taxes in the form of Capital Gains for those years (the only years I engaged in Crypto trading).  Since I did not trade that much and most trades were at a loss, the Capital Gains taxes owed, even including penalties and interest, is very small. My only concern, even if it is pretty stupid and probably just me overthinking things, is two questions involving a slight confusion regarding clarification on state taxes for my scenario...

During those years (2017 and 2018), I was a resident of Florida, and my "Know-Your-Customer" registration with the exchanges was also in Florida, which has no Capital Gains tax, so I'm pretty sure all is in the clear, however, I'd like to just get some clarification on two things, please...