Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

msdshbn
Returning Member

I am a first year resident of US and had part of 2019 as non-resident. Is any of Turbotax products (CDs)? suitable for my condition?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

I am a first year resident of US and had part of 2019 as non-resident. Is any of Turbotax products (CDs)? suitable for my condition?

@msdshbn ,  depending on your exact circumstances and facts of your case , you may be able to use any of the TurboTax products.  My personal pref. is  downloaded/CD  of  Home& Business , however some the lower levels of the product may be alright ( all the  versions  contain the same forms  but  the difference  is only in  the  step-by-step questions focus ).

To be more specific: please tell me the following  --

(a) when did you enter the USA, what visa, is your family with you , do they each have their own visa  or are sub-visas based on your status

(b) which country are you from

(c) do you own property here 

(d) do you have SSN, what about your spouse  and children

(e) etc. etc.

msdshbn
Returning Member

Many thanks for your response.

• My wife and I entered the USA on November 1st 2019 on a resident visa that was granted earlier in 2019 to us.
  • We came from Australia and worked in Australia for the earlier part of 2019.
  • I don’t own any property in Australia nor in the USA but we do have a number of declarable bank accounts in different countries.
  • We do have SSN.
  • No children.

By the way, are TurboTax’s CDs designed for a particular year or they can be used in subsequent tax years as well?

Thank you again.