Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

drheidi

CA resident working remotely for NY state

I am a resident of CA, but I work remotely for a company in the state of NY.  The state of NY will be taxing me as a resident of their state, but it seems that they will not take out withholdings for CA.  What should I do to prevent a large tax bill at the end of the year?  Also, the state of CA has withholding for state disability insurance.  How do I make estimates for that?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

17 Replies
maglib
Level 11

@drheidi   your NY employer should be taxing you as a nonresident of NY.  You will owe taxes to NY as you are working remotely for a NY based business.  New York is one of a handful of states that has a “convenience of employer” rule, meaning workers must pay income tax to New York if their employer is based in the state, even if their job was done remotelyNonresidents of NY only pay taxes to New York on New York-sourced income