Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Part year resident reciprocity wages

Dear turbotax,

Hello, my name is [PII removed], and I work as an assistant to a financial advisor and we do quite a few of our (simpler) clients taxes for them.  Most things are simple for us.  But one thing that even after 5 years of doing this we still cannot get a grasp on.

For a handful of our clients who either moved from Ohio to Indiana, or vice versa, during the middle of the year; OR lived the whole year in Indiana yet worked in Ohio, all have really weird state taxes.  Due to how turbotax words the reciprocity questions on these two states in particular, it FEELS like they are being double taxed on their w2 income.  Quick example: client I'm currently working on has box 1 income of approx. 67.5k, yet their box 16 income is 77.5k between the two states.  

Within turbotax for Ohio and Indiana in particular it states you cannot claim any double taxed income if state taxes were withheld for the other state.  Due to the box 16 values though this is very strange.  We've been dealing with this for years and I would desperately desire a clear answer on how to fix this for future years.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

The difference in the income between box 1 and box 16 strictly depends on the state tax law (and possibly by the state where they work). It appears that Ohio and Indiana both follow federal law in regards to 401(k) contributions as example.  This indicates that generally the federal wages (box 1) should equal the state wages (box 16) on the W-2.