Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Part year residency in Kentucky

I travel back and forth between FL and KY multiple times throughout the year. I own a house, vote, register vehicles etc in FL, but also lease an apartment in KY. In 2021 I spent less than 183 days in KY. In 2022 I spent 183 days in KY, so I was a part year KY resident for 2022. And in 2023 I also spent 183 days in KY. Was I still a part year resident of KY in 2023 and need to file 740 NP and allocate my unearned income, or was I considered a full year resident for 2023 because I spent 183 days in KY for two consecutive years and need to file form 740 and report 100% of my unearned income even though I was not there all year? And for 2023, what is my move-in date, when I never truly moved into KY, just travel back and forth to visit child and grandchild? Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TomD8
Level 15

I can see some ambiguity between sections 27 and 32 of the statute, but the words "establishes residency" normally refers to domiciliary residency.  Your domiciliary residency never changed from Florida.  Also, your situation in 2022 precisely fits KY's definition of "resident" for tax purposes.  I think that 32 is the overriding paragraph.

A change of domicile normally involves both abandoning one's domicile in the "old" state and then establishing it in the "new" state.  Some state statutes make this explicit; some do not.

Of course you're free to interpret the law as you see fit, but in the event of a residency audit I suspect KY will determine that for tax purposes you were a resident of KY in 2022, not a part-year resident.