Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Ryan2022
Returning Member

Out of state filing - Michigan Employer and Texas Resident

Hello,

My employer is in Michigan and for the entire 2021, I was a Texas resident and worked remotely from Texas for the entire 2021. I did not travel to Michigan at all for 2021.

Now In Texas, there is no need to file, I get it.

For the Michigan filing, Do I need to show 100% (or the entire year)  wages? OR Do I need to declare earnings of 0 so I can get a full refund for the taxes my employer withheld? since neither I live nor worked in Michigan.

As per the below link, here instead of Texas, it's Vermont. From this answer, I need to file for Vermont, which is in my case, I need to only file for Texas but since Texas has no Income tax file so I do NOT need to file.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/state-taxes/help/do-i-need-to-file-a-nonresident-return-for-an-out...

Thanks a log to the Turbo community

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

Michigan does not tax non-resident remote income.

File a non-resident MI return on which you allocate zero income to Michigan, in order to obtain a refund of incorrectly withheld MI taxes.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
Ryan2022
Returning Member

Thanks so much, Tom for your prompt reply.

Further, I found this from the Michigan website on the instructions on the Nonresident's income.

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/taxes/Forms/2020/2020-IIT-Forms/Schedule_NR.pdf?re...