Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NYS Form IT-182 for NON-NYS Rental Info; NYC Tax for non-resident

Hello!  I am a NJ resident who has 1 condo in NYC and 2 properties in MO. 

I get W2 wages from my NYC job, so I fill NYS IT-203 every year.

1) Question on NYS IT-182. 

In 2020, the NYC condo had a loss. By default, Turbo tax carries ALL rental activities (NYC & MO) from Federal form 8582 to NYS form IT-182. Per instructions to NYS IT-182, this form should ONLY report NYS-sourced rental income/loss.   I didn't find an option within Turbo to prevent non-NYS rental info inputted under federal part from flowing to NYS IT-182.
The only way I can do: on IT-182 worksheet for my MO properties, under part II, I can zero out line 5b amount (amount of line 5a attributable to NY sources). This way, only NYC rental info would be reported on NYS IT-182.  Is this the right way to fill out NYS IT-182? 

2)  Am I subject to NYC tax (and/or NYC filing requirement) because of this condo? I live in NJ and I don't work for NYC city department, so I am not a NYC resident. I know NYC individual tax is a sur-charge of NYS tax, which should only apply to NYC residents. But still wanna double check. It's hard to imagine...say if I sell this condo at a gain later and nyc would not take a surcharge out of it?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

NYS Form IT-182 for NON-NYS Rental Info; NYC Tax for non-resident

If you go to the IT-182 Worksheet for your property, there is a box near the top that asks if this property should be excluded from the IT-182 form.  Just "X" that box and it will be excluded.

message box icon

Get more help