Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NewlyWedsWANY
Returning Member

[NY] Newlyweds filing Federal jointly: Wife is a full-year resident [NY], I am a partial-year resident [moved from WA with no state tax]

My wife and I are filing our Federal taxes jointly, TurboTax doesn't give us the option to file our State taxes separately... Or at least, I cannot manage to find out how to file State separately when Federal is joint.

The State Tax section is asking about our residency, my wife has lived in NYC for the whole year of 2022. I moved to NYC on August 1st from WA state (WA has no state tax).

How can I file State separately on TurboTax, OR should I file our taxes as a partial-year or full-year resident?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Cynthiad66
Expert Alumni

[NY] Newlyweds filing Federal jointly: Wife is a full-year resident [NY], I am a partial-year resident [moved from WA with no state tax]

You will need to file a Federal joint return and New York resident and Part year

If you are married and filing a joint federal income tax return but one spouse is a New York State resident and the other is a nonresident or part-year resident, you are required to file separate New York State returns. The resident must use Form IT-201, Resident Income Tax Return. The nonresident or part-year resident, if required to file a New York State return, must use Form IT-203. However, if you both choose to file a joint New York State return, use Form IT-201 and both spouses’ income will be taxed as full-year residents of New York State.

When You and Your Spouse Move to NY at Different times