Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

amp92

Non-Resident/Resident Tax Return

I am very confused about my current situation. I am a resident of Massachusetts. I moved to Puerto Rico with my significant other who owns his home (I am not on a lease/mortgage). I have not earned any income since June 2023 when I came to PR and I do not believe I can obtain residency in PR due to having closer connections in MA (Driver’s license, all my banking, my family ties). I am starting a federal job which I marked all my paperwork as this current PR address because that’s my physical location and I did not want to be deceitful in saying I was in MA. My agency wants me to file a state income withholding form for PR, put all my addresses as PR, and basically file as though I’m a resident here. Am I going to be paying state income taxes in both PR and MA? Also, my agency is out of South Carolina. I do not understand how to go about this the proper way to handle the paperwork so when I go to file my taxes, I’m not completely lost.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
AmyC
Expert Alumni

Non-Resident/Resident Tax Return

As a U.S. citizen living in a U.S. territory, it does get a little tricky. Since your employer is SC based, you will need to file a U.S. income tax return unless they claim all income is earned in Puerto Rico and you are a bona fide resident -then you only need to file the PR return. See Topic 901

Which means for now, a US return is required. If the employer treats you as working in MA, where you feel to be a resident with intentions to return and make that your home base again, then you could go that route.