Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

corgi7892

Non resident NY filing for MA resident who did not relocate due to Covid

I have been an MA resident since August 2019 with a large consulting firm based in NY, but working with clients in Boston. In June 2020, I accepted a position in NY, but due to COVID, the company's offices were closed and I never established residency in NY. Both W-2s show a split between wages and taxes withheld to MA and NY. I have filed a MA state return based on the portion of wages marked as MA on my W-2. Do I allocate any or all of my 2020 earnings to NYS?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
mamh11
Returning Member

DanielV01
Expert Alumni

@corgi7892  Your situation could be complex.  However, if all of the income earned was earned either physically working in New York or telecommuting to the New York office, then 100% of the income is also New York income, and you must then claim a credit for the tax you pay on  income you must report to New York on your Massachusetts tax return.  As @mamh11 points out, New York treats the telecommuter working for a New York location from outside of New York to be taxed as if they were physically working within New York state.