Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NJ Resident with Rentals in TX/TN. Do I need to report the rental income/loss in NJ

I am a resident of NJ and own single-family rentals in TX/TN.

Do I need to report the income/loss on my NJ state filings?

TurboTax automatically records these activities on my NJ returns.  I spoke to a CPA and was advised that the income/loss from my rentals in TX/TN should not be reported on my NJ returns.

Now I am confused.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

NJ Resident with Rentals in TX/TN. Do I need to report the rental income/loss in NJ

CORRECTED ANSWER

As a New Jersey resident you have to report all of your income on your New Jersey tax return, no matter where the income is from. TurboTax is doing it correctly.

If you have a net loss from all all of your rentals combined, it will show as zero or blank on your NJ-1040. You cannot claim a net loss in an income category on the New Jersey return. But you still have to list the profit or loss from each individual rental property.

You might have misunderstood what the CPA said, particularly with regard to losses. Otherwise, you need to consult a different tax professional. Not all CPAs are tax experts.

rjs
Level 15
Level 15

@j-ong  I have corrected the answer that I posted earlier. Please return to the TurboTax community to read the corrected answer. The correction is that rental income or loss is a separate income category. It is not combined with business income. But the basic answer to your question is the same. You have to report your rental income or loss on your New Jersey tax return, even if the net is a loss. TurboTax is reporting it correctly.

Thanks @rjs