Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

New Residency in Different States and Income Tax Implications

I grew up in California, which is where my drivers license currently is registered.  I graduated college this past year and moved to Texas in February of 2021. Up until now I have been a resident (i.e. drivers license address) of CA, and my vehicle is also owned by my parents, who reside in CA, but is currently in TX, where I live and drive. My CA license will expire in a few months, and I am curious what the tax implications are for having a drivers license in a state with income tax versus having residency (and working) in TX, where there is no state income tax. I have also heard it can be a lengthy drawn out process to switch ID's to TX right now, because the DPS is way overbooked. As my license is about to expire, I have two questions: 

1. Should I renew my license in CA or switch to TX? Because I am young, I don't own any property or have a "permanent residence' in TX. I will likely be moving every year/every couple of years to different cities or apartments (likely still in TX), but am weary of making my permanent residence somewhere where I might not be living a year from now. I am leaning towards keeping my permanent residence in CA because I can keep my permanent residence my parent's address, where I know I will have a stable place to send all of my important documents.  

2. Will having a CA ID force me to pay CA state income tax? Or will I still be able to file in TX? Because I work in TX, I would like to receive the no-state-income tax benefits, but don't know if having a CA drivers license will force me to pay CA state income taxes.

Thank you in advance for the help! 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?