Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

My federal and state wages on the W-2 form are different, but apparently the state income is calculated from my federal wage.

Hi,

I am a California resident (a graduate student in a school in California), and on this year's W-2 form, my state wages are significantly smaller than my federal wages. I believe this is because I worked remotely from Texas for about 9 months in 2021. But on TurboTax, it seems that the income used for state tax filing is calculated based on my federal wages even though the state tax withheld on the W-2 form seems based on my state wages. As a result, I owe state taxes, even though I get refunds for federal taxes. Is this how California taxes are supposed to be calculated, and if not, is there a way to correct it so that it correctly reflects the fact that my state wages are significantly smaller than my federal wages (because of the fact that I work remotely from Texas)?

In case this clarifies my situation, I never intended to live in Texas, and I visited there for temporary business purposes (although I ended up staying there for 9 month) related to my research, so I consider myself a California domicile.

By the way, according to this web post (https://www.palmspringstaxandtrustlawyers.com/nonresidents-working-remotely-for-california-businesse...), I don't owe California income taxes for the service I performed outside California. Below is a relevant paragraph copied from it. But I'm not sure if this applies to my case, since I consider myself a California domicile as explained above: