Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

gkhuat
Returning Member

Maryland state income tax why am I charged an interest for tax underpayment

I am filing my tax return for 2021 and I moved to Maryland during 2021. In total I am a Maryland part year resident for 4 months.

My Maryland state income tax was withheld from my paycheck by my employer every two weeks during 2021. I found out now that I owe around $1200 local and state income tax to Maryland, but I am confused why I am charged an interest ? The tax filing due date is April 18th, 2022 and it is still February 2022. I tried using the interest calculator on their website and even that said I do not owe interest if the tax filing due date is April 18th and I file my tax before that. Was there a different state tax filing date for Maryland ? 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

No. Since you owe $1,200 on your state tax return, you are being subject to interest. Maryland is a pay-as-you-earn state. If your employer does withhold enough Maryland taxes from your pay, you may still be required to make quarterly estimated income tax payments if you develop a tax liability that exceeds the amount withheld by your employer by more than $500.

Per Form 502UP (Line 10), if you are a first-time filer in Maryland, you have to pay at least 90% of the current year's tax to avoid interest. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert