Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Living in multiple states

Hi, 

I am trying file my own taxes this year but I am confused as to what my residency status (resident, part-year resident, or a non-resident) is in all the states I lived in, in the year of 2023. 

Background information is, I am a permanent resident in Colorado (I live at home with my parents and that is the state I hold my driver's license in). I am a nurse and I signed my first travel assignment in 2023 in California which lasted from 1/1/23 through 4/30/23. I came back to Colorado for maybe 4 days (?) and I moved straight to Pennsylvania because I had gotten into grad school which started mid-May and lived here till the end of the year. So these are my questions:

1. What is my residency status in all these states? CO, CA, and PA?

2. Am I required to file taxes in state of Colorado even though I did not make any income in this state? 

3. Rolled over 401k from my old job to my Roth IRA and I have earned some dividends from stocks, which states am I claiming these earnings to?

I am just very confused as what I need to do! If you have any similar experiences as me, I would greatly appreciate it if you could help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q 1. What is my residency status in all these states? CO, CA, and PA?