Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Live in NJ, work in NY - got credit to avoid double taxation but got penalty for not paying NJ taxe

Hi, I live in NJ and work in NY.  I've filled out my W2s for both NJ and NY.  My employer is only withholding NY state taxes.  At the end of the year when I file my taxes, NY gave me a refund for all of the state taxes and I had to pay taxes for NJ.  However, NJ then penalized me for not paying estimated taxes throughout the year.  I've been doing this for many years and this is the first time I've gotten this penalty.  Does this sound right?  Am I supposed to fill out W2 differently to force removal for NJ state taxes from the paycheck or manually pay estimated taxes to NJ?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Live in NJ, work in NY - got credit to avoid double taxation but got penalty for not paying NJ taxe

Something's wrong, but I can't tell exactly what. You should not have gotten a refund from New York, and you should not have had to pay any significant amount of tax to New Jersey. You should have paid New York tax and gotten a credit on your New Jersey tax return for the tax that you paid to New York.

You should have filed a New York nonresident tax return, Form IT-203, and a New Jersey resident tax return, Form NJ-1040. Is that what you did? You might have made a mistake in telling TurboTax which state your income was from, or in entering the state information from your W-2.