Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is my CA state capital loss caryover from 2022 is the same as Capital Loss Carry over on my Federal Returm

Why does Turbotax want me to enter a Capital Loss Carryover from 2022 in my state return, as opposed to automatically entering the full 2022 Capital Loss caryover from my federal return that it kindly informs me about?

I have been residing in CA permanently for 20 years, including 2023. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Is my CA state capital loss caryover from 2022 is the same as Capital Loss Carry over on my Federal Returm

Hi. I'm just following up to find out why it is that I would use the amount on line 8 of my 2022 California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment  as my capital loss carry over amount rather than using an amount that is $3,000 less than that. It is my understanding that we can only claim $3,000 of the excess loss each year. So if the amount on line 8 of my 2022 California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment is $780,530 why wouldn't the amount of my capital loss carry over for 2023 be $777,530? 

Thank you 

View solution in original post

10 Replies
MonikaK1
Expert Alumni

TurboTax is asking for your California carryover amount in case it differs from the Federal carryover amount. 

Though, in general, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), there are a few continuing differences between California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law changes, they do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal level. For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.