Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Attend our Ask the Experts event about Extension Filers on Sept 25! >> RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Knull1320

Illinois tax due, non resident.

I have been a Florida resident for 25 years, and a couple of years ago I went to Illinois with the intention of bringing my girlfriend down to Florida to live with me. When I got to Illinois we found out her dad had a couple weeks left to live of cancer. So I decided to stay there for a couple of weeks. In the meantime I did a couple of small jobs for her brother up there. So when it came time to do taxes obviously I had to enter that in. But I came back to Florida shortly after and have been here ever since. They are saying I owe them $1,500...... Do I have to pay it? I never intend on going back there. Never had a Illinois residence, never had a Illinois driver's license or anything. It's 2024 and this happened in 2018.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Any money that you earn for working in a different state is taxed by the state that you worked in, even though you are not a resident of that state. It doesn't matter if you live in a state that does not have state income tax. You were supposed to file an Illinois nonresident tax return to report the income that you earned for working in Illinois.

The $1,500 that you now owe probably includes penalties for not filing the Illinois nonresident tax return, and interest from when you should have paid the tax until now.

You cannot ignore this because they could reduce the levy to a judgment and then register the judgment in Florida.

Knull1320