Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Dalene1

I am an Oklahoma resident. Why is turbo tax putting my stock trades in a form 561? These are not Oklahoma properties . Is anyone else having this problem?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
MayaD
Expert Alumni

I am an Oklahoma resident. Why is turbo tax putting my stock trades in a form 561? These are not Oklahoma properties . Is anyone else having this problem?

As DMarkM1 mentioned, The OK form 561 is used to report sale of OK property or interest (such as stock) in a OK property, company, partnership that resulted in a capital gain. You can get a deduction from those OK capital gains on your OK taxes using the form 561.

For more information please check Instructions for form 561

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
sjalowiec

I have the same issue .. my stock sales from the federal return are being transferred to Oklahoma form 561, however the stock sales are not oklahoma based properties or assets.  the response I read from the original question did not discuss why this is happening.  Hence , I am still stuck. 

JamesG1
Expert Alumni

The transactions are being  transferred to Oklahoma form 561 Capital Gain Deduction for Residents.  The software thinks the sale may qualify for the deduction.

If the sale does not qualify for the deduction, select This property does not qualify for deduction.

General Information