Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I properly exclude/allocate Dividend income from treasury obligations when I was a resident of two different states?

I lived in two different states ( 7 months in MA, 5 months in NC) and had (for simplicity sake):

$6K Dividend income while living in MA, but $3K can be excluded since they are treasury obligations.

$4K Dividend income while living in NC, but $2K can be excluded since they are treasury obligations.

While filling out my federal return, I entered the total of $5K to be excluded for treasury obligations but TT is allocating ALL $5K to the first state return I started to fill out (MA).

There is a question that asks how much did I make in MA for "Part-year Resident and Nonresident Interest and Dividends"  which is $6K for me, but there does not appear to be a way to properly allocate that only $3K should be excluded (TT is choosing $5K).

The only way I believe I can do it is to remove the entire $5K exclusion from the federal return and enter into  TT in the state return under "Other Interest and Dividends to Exclude"  =  $3K.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
MonikaK1
Expert Alumni

How do I properly exclude/allocate Dividend income from treasury obligations when I was a resident of two different states?

Enter Form 1099-INT in TurboTax in the Federal section exactly as it appears, and answer the follow-up questions. The allocation of the exclusion, if needed, is made on the state returns.

Interest income from Treasury bills, notes, and bonds is subject to federal income tax, but is exempt from all state and local income taxes. See this IRS webpage for more information.