Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

UA24
Level 1

Double state taxation

I am an Illinois resident that earned Idaho-sourced income working remotely for a company based in ID.  The HR administrator withheld state income tax for Illinois and not Idaho.  When I filled out both state tax returns (IL resident form1040 and ID non-resident form 43)  TT calculated that I owed tax to Idaho on the income indicating double taxation. Idaho has no reciprocity with any other state. The Idaho Form 43 instructions say that non-residents do not qualify for the credit on income tax paid to other states.  Am I truly stuck being double taxed? 

Thank you to all in advance.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DawnC
Expert Alumni

Double state taxation

No, you are not stuck.  Two things.

1. If you did all the work in IL from your home, you owe no tax to ID.   Neither of those states have the Convenience of the employer rule.   Your income is sourced in the state you earned it in, which sounds like IL.   If this is the case, allocate no wages to ID and request a full refund by filing an ID nonresident return.   Have your employer only withhold IL.   There will be no credit on your IL return because you should pay no tax to ID.