turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mbog
Level 1

Confused on multi-state tax filing

Hello,

I have been using TurboTax for over 10 years.   This year, we have a more complex multi-state tax situation that has been confusing to me in a few areas.   I would appreciate any advice you could provide.

Here's our tax situation for 2023:

- My wife and I are filing our tax return as joint married.

- I live and worked in CA. 

- My wife lived in KS but worked in MO.   She has paid most of the taxes to MO but some to KS as well.

- We have sold our long-time home in CA.   In addition to capital gain from that, we have some capital gains in in our joint investment account and I have some gains from selling stocks via my employer's ESSP.

- For all three states, TurboTax uses non-resident status.

I assume we report my wife's MO income in KS return but then I don't see an option in TurboTax for claiming credit for taxes paid to MO.   I am worried that we may be double taxed without that.   What is the correct way to handle this?

In CA taxes, TurboTax asks what percentage of the capital gains do we need to allocate to CA.  It seems that TurboTax is not able not determine this automatically.   I am thinking that gains from the house and ESPP sales would be allocated to CA fully, but how should the gains from our joint investment account be allocated?

Thanks,

M.B.

Another qu

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

Yes, we can break this down so that you know what should be reported on each state return and how to file.  Several states can cause some work on your part to make sure they are complete and accurate.