Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can couples living in different states CA/IL & earn their respective income in those states file joint federal&state return but split the income when filing the 2 states?

The system recognizes that I am a resident of CA and my spouse is resident of IL. We filed a joint federal return and when I got to the state, the  CA state allowed me to input the income solely generated from CA from our total income and calculated my CA refund based on that amount (which kind of makes sense to me). The IL tax was also calculated based on the income from IL only. I’m wondering if this is a new feature recently added to Turbotax or I’m doing something wrong. This is because all what I have seen from online search is that we might have to do MFJ for federal and MFS for the states.
Thanks for your input.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
maglib
Level 11

Can couples living in different states CA/IL & earn their respective income in those states file joint federal&state return but split the income when filing the 2 states?

@hardeymorgan  California is a community property state. If one spouse is a resident of California and the other is not, you may be required to report income earned outside of California.

if you file a joint return and either spouse/RDP (Resident Domestic Partner) was  a nonresident or a part-year resident in 2023,file Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.