Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Are Traditional IRA Contributions taxable in New York State?

I am a resident of Pennsylvania and work in the state of New York (Not New York City).

I do not participate in an employer 401k or 403b.

I would like to open a Traditional IRA before April 15, 2024 to take the deduction on my 2023 Federal Taxes to reduce my tax liability.

I would like to know if Traditional IRA Contributions are taxable in New York State taxes?

If Traditional IRA Contributions are not taxable in New York where do I enter the adjustment on the IT-203 and do I also need to fill in IT-225?

Does the same tax rule apply to New York State where if I open a traditional IRA before April 15, 2024 I can apply the deduction to 2023?

Does it matter that I am a resident of Pennsylvania but work in New York?

Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

1. "I would like to know if Traditional IRA Contributions are taxable in New York State taxes?" - No, they are deductible from NYS income.

2. "If Traditional IRA Contributions are not taxable in New York where do I enter the adjustment on the IT-203 and do I also need to fill in IT-225?" - Just enter the IRA contribution in the federal return, and it will flow down to the NYS return. To enter an IRA contribution, go to Wages & Income->Retirement and Investments->Traditional and Roth IRA contributions. Enter the amount of the contribution and the amount that was made for 2023 between January 1, 2024 and April 15, 2024. I don't know if there are NYS screens, but if so, just answer any questions you see, and come back here if you can't answer them.