Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

App Sales in multiple states

I'm a full-time software engineer, but last year as a hobby I put up an app for sale on the Apple App Store, and it was sold everywhere through Apple. Collectively, all app sales from across the world generated about $145.55, of which I received $102.10 after Apple took their commission.

All the US based purchases where from 11 different states, but all the amounts I earned in those states are very small. The states where the app was sold and the total sale amount (what Apple charged customers, excluding any sales tax) were:

Texas$43.70
Alabama$13.92
Illinois$13.92
Utah$11.92
Ohio$10.91
Maryland$8.97
Louisiana$5.98
Washington$4.95
Indiana$3.98
Tennessee$3.96
Michigan$1.98
District of Columbia$0.99

Please note that I'm a resident of Washington state, where I lived completely last year. So for all other states mentioned above, I'll be a non-resident. Every state has different rules, so I'm trying to figure out for which states from the above do I need to file state taxes and mention the 'income' I earned in that state ?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
MarilynG1
Expert Alumni

Since your business is Self-Employment and Income/Expenses are reported on Schedule C, you are considered to have earned all of your income from your home office in Washington.

You don't need to file a return in these other states.

If you receive a 1099-K from Apple reporting your sales revenue, here's more detail on What Online Business Owners Should Know and also Sales Tax 101 for Online Sellers you may find helpful.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post