Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

msanders1

AL State taxes with NY wages

I am a resident of Alabama with NY state wages. The New York W2 required that all Federal wages from the employee be listed on the NY Wages line.  In Alabama I have to report all income from all states. Because of the NY W2 requirement TurboTax is of course reporting all W2 state income of the State Wages W2 form.  This results in taxes become double on the AL Form 40 line 5.  I can override in TurboTax but this does not pass the review. 

How do you handle NY W2's on Alabama state taxes?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
MayaD
Expert Alumni

Your salary is taxable in New York, where you earned it, and Alabama, where you live. To avoid being double taxed on the same income, you're allowed to take a credit for taxes paid to New York on your Alabama return.

You need to file NY non-resident return and AL resident return.

Make sure you've filled out the Personal Info section correctly:

1. With your return open, select Personal Information
  2. Then, on the Personal info summary screen, scroll down to Other State Income, and select Edit.
  3. At the Did you make money in any other states? question, answer Yes and make sure your nonresident state(s) are selected from the drop-down.
  4. Select Continue to return to your Personal info summary.

To ensure accurate calculations, always complete the non-resident return first.

How do I file a nonresident state return?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
msanders1