Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099-NEC received from different state, not sure where to pay my state taxes!

I'm an Oregon resident and have a permanent job here from which I receive a W2. I did some contract work in Montana through a healthcare staffing company and received a 1099-NEC for which:

-Box 5 is blank

-Box 6 has a blank for the "StatePayer's state no." but right below it shows "OR Applied For"

-Box 7 shows a State income of $X amount (over $10,000)

This staffing company, based in Florida, is listed as the Payer on the 1099-NEC and otherwise I see no indication on the 1099-NEC about any evidence of me working in Montana

Do I just file taxes in Oregon and call it quits or do I have to file taxes in Montana as well (although I've already paid the 9.9% state income tax to Oregon via quarterly payments)?

Appreciate any input!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q.   Do I have to file taxes in Montana as well?

A. Yes, if you physically worked in MT.