Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

write offs-travel agent

I'm self employed Schedule C.  Can I write off when I take clients out to dinner or out to golf to talk business and things like that?  I know all of my travel expenses are able to be written off b/c I'm a travel agent so I already write all of my travel expenses off just wondering about the other entertainment and meals, etc.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
rschule1
Expert Alumni

write offs-travel agent

Hi There

Re: Meals:

Most work-related meals expenses are generally 50% deductible. 

Some examples of deductible work-related meals include:

• Meals during business travel
  • Meals while conducting business
  • Meals at a seminar or conference
  • Office snacks
  • Other meals expenses

Re Golf: The cost of playing golf is not deductible. However costs of meals, drinks, club rentals  may be 50% deductible as business related entertainment.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
K M W
Employee Tax Expert

write offs-travel agent

Hi, cassieerne!  There are a lot of business expenses you can deduct, but some are limited, and some are not deductible under current tax law.

First, in general, IRS Publication 535, Business Expenses, is a great place to start when you are looking at what you can and cannot deduct against your business income.  To be deductible, a business expense must be