Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

maguire95
Returning Member

Freelance artist / designer / multiple forms of income

Hi! So many questions I'd love to hear from an expert about...thank you in advance!!

Graphic Design: I work as a graphic designer for multiple companies, and I did last year as well. I am a contracted worker at those companies and pay taxes accordingly. I thought I did everything right for that last year, but I'm looking back at my documents and they say Self-Employed. But I did not pay quarterly taxes. Does this mean I did that incorrectly?

Art Business: Starting this year, I also now have my own business selling artwork, products with my artwork on them, and art commissions. I have not yet made a quarterly payment this year so I know I'm already doing that incorrectly... How do I made up for that at this point? Do I send in my estimated taxes for q1 - q3 by Jan 15, 2022?

Comedy Club: One last form of income, I work as a server at a comedy club. Taxes are taken out of my paychecks though so I think that should be treated more normally / not as self-employed. Is that correct?

So major question - what do I pay the quarterly self employment taxes on? Just my art business? Or my graphic design contractor jobs as well?

More art business questions: I don't have an LLC or anything at all set up like that. Do I need to before I pay taxes? Is it financially smarter if I set up an LLC?

If I do set up an LLC, should I include my graphic design work within that business or get paid as an individual for that, but get paid as an LLC for my art?

Thank you so much for your help!!! So sorry for the long list of q's

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
PoojaT27