turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099 "income"

I've been struggling with the reporting by Square and other card processors on the 1099 form as "income".  I am an independent consultant for a direct sales company.  I purchase my product from the company to resell at the same price I purchased at.  Then I earn commission from them for my "sales".  They report my commission income on a 1099 form annually, but then my card processor also reports my sales as income as well, when in fact, I'm re-selling product, and not making income on the re-selling but reducing already purchased inventory.  So the IRS is receiving earnings notification from my Direct Sales company AND my card processing company.  And it doesn't seem either fair or accurate.  But it's still a requirement.  Can someone help me understand how this is actual income?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Laura_CPA
Employee Tax Expert

1099 "income"

Dear Pshaw2321,