Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm new to self employment how should I file for IRS quarterly or yearly?

I started working freelancing as an tutor for about a year now. At first I hardly made anything . It's taken several months to get clientele. I pay taxes monthly to my state. Earlier this year I tried to file at IRS. I've tried to look at the IRS website but I'm very confused to which form and where to apply? Is it quarterly ,monthly or yearly? Earlier this year I just paid when I filed my taxes for the year. I want to file regularly but I don't know how to go about it. Since I'm not making much should I just wait and pay yearly when I file? Where should I go and which schedule should I use ? Should I file monthly or quarterly ?

Thank you for your help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Loretta P
Employee Tax Expert

Hello @LunaBelle, congratulations on your new business.

The IRS requires taxpayers to submit their withholding/estimated tax payments as you go instead of waiting until the end of the year.  If you try to wait until the end of the year and pay it all with the return, you can be subject to penalties and interest for the late payments.  I would make your 3rd quarter payment when due and your 4th quarter payment by January 15, 2024.  Make sure to mark the 4th quarter payment as a payment for 2023. 

You can make payments directly on the IRS website.

Make a Payment

These articles will explain about pay as you go and ways to avoid the estimated tax penalty.

Estimated Tax FAQs

Pay As You Go, So You Won't Owe:  A Guide to Withholding, Estimated Taxes, and Ways to Avoid the Est...