turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can my city tax my pre-tax 401k contributions?

I live in a small town near Dayton, OH. This is my first time filing taxes with 401k contributions.

I sent this email to individualtax@city.cleveland.oh.us

I have some 401k contributions. My wages box on w-2 is 50661 which subtracts my 401k contributions as it should. Even my state wages box is the same. But when I go to file my local return on this website, my taxable income is 51907.87 which adds my 401k contributions! Shouldn't my local tax be calculated on 50661?

Their response was:

Whatever box on the W-2 indicates the highest wage figure is what we are required to use.   So, if the high wage figure is $51, 907.87, then that is the figure you will need to use.  Get back to me with any additional questions or concerns.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

The 2018 Cleveland income tax instructions http://ccatax.ci.cleveland.oh.us/taxforms/Y2019/muniit.pdf

states that "Retirement Plans, i.e. 401(k), 403(b), IRA, Keogh, STRS, PERS “picked up” by a public employer are not deductible from wages."

View solution in original post

5 Replies

The 2018 Cleveland income tax instructions http://ccatax.ci.cleveland.oh.us/taxforms/Y2019/muniit.pdf

states that "Retirement Plans, i.e. 401(k), 403(b), IRA, Keogh, STRS, PERS “picked up” by a public employer are not deductible from wages."

Thanks! I also saw this statement in that document: "City taxes are paid on income (salaries, wages, profits, and other compensation) when it is earned, not when it is received in retirement."