Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

This is my first time filing taxes I'm going to need a break down and how to's.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
LindaA
Expert Alumni

This is my first time filing taxes I'm going to need a break down and how to's.

TurboTax has an interview format that will walk you through the preparation process. When you sign in for the first time, you'll be asked to enter your name and other personal information, then answer some questions that will determine your filing status. Next you'll enter your income, such as wages from a job, reported on Form W-2. The TurboTax screens have fields that match the boxes on your forms, so you'll know where to enter the information. When you're finished entering info on a screen, clicking the Continue button in the lower right corner will advance you to the next page. After you're finished with your income, you'll be prompted to enter information about your health insurance coverage and any deductions or credits that might apply to you. Once your federal information is complete, you can work on your state return, if needed. If you have questions while you are working on your return, use the Search function (in the upper right corner) to find answers. (Click the first and second screenshots below for reference.)