Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Spousal IRA Contribution

I retired in 2020, but received compensation for unused vacation leave in 2021 and 2022.  The compensation paid to me in year 2022 was $3,464.  I have been receiving a pension since 2021 and am no longer considered to be covered by a retirement plan at work, as i am retired.

The 3,464 in compensation for the unused vacation received in 2022 is being reported as wages.  I received a W-2 for this amount from my employer.

My other income received in 2022 was for non-wages income:  pension, interest, dividends and one unusual item.  I received a $11,349 payment from my former employer as a California late payment of wages penalty.  I read an online IRS letter that indicated that this payment was not wages, but was still reportable as taxable income.  It was supposed to have been reported by my former employer on a 1099MISC, but I never received that form .  I am reporting this amount as income, nonetheless.

The TurboTax program is telling me that I am entitled to make a $14,000 contribution.  $7,000 for myself and $7,000 for my non-working spouse.  I thought I was limited to the $3,464 I received as wages for my unused vacation leave.  The only thing that I can surmise is that Turbo Tax is including the $11,349 late wages penalty as earned income.  IF you take the reimbursement for unused vacation and add the penalty for the late payment of wages, that totals $14,813, getting me over the $14,000 contribution limit.  Perhaps this being a write-in amount has caused TurboTax to not recognize the late payment of wages penalty as non-wages?

i would love to make the $14,000 contribution, but don’t want to take it and then have the IRS penalize me later.

Does anyone have any knowledge of the correct contribution amount?  Thank you.