Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

HHinNH
Returning Member

NH Interest and Dividends Tax on LLC distributions

I'm a new resident to NH.  I'm a partner in an LLC that has made losses in 11 of the past 13 years.  There is an accumulated loss on the balance sheet.  The LLC K-1had a box 1 income of $27,000 in 2023 and reported Interest and Dividends of $2000.  The LLC also made is first distribution in 2023 of $45,000.  It is an operating business.  

I understand I must report the $45,000 distribution on line 2.

I also think a big chunk of the distribution can be designated not taxable on line 4.  There are two not taxable "Reason Codes" that I believe pertain to my situation.

Reason Code 10: Distributive share of the entity's interest or dividend income indicated on Schedule K-1 and
included in the partner, beneficiary or shareholders federal income tax return.

Since the dividends and income of $2000 is included on my Fed Filing in Sched B and included in the amount of dividends and income reported in Line 1 of the NH DP-10 it seems they are giving the opportunity to avoid counting this income twice.  Correct?

Reason Code 11: Return of capital. 

Chapter Rev 900 states in Rev 903.05:  Deemed Dividends.  With the exception of distributions in liquidation, the following transactions between an organization and its shareholders or interest-holders shall be considered a dividend:

(a)  All property transferred from an organization to a shareholder or interest-holder with respect to the shareholder's or interest-holder's ownership interest from the accumulated profits of the organization;