Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

salberti77
Returning Member

I received a 1042-S with income code 15, Chapter 3, exemption code 02. I know this is a foreign person form, but I am a resident alien. How can I enter this information in TT?

I transferred money from my old 401(k) to my new 401(k). I mistakenly told my old 401(k) partner that I was a non-resident alien (I always get them mixed up, immigration and tax purposes). Digging around, I have found that the money transferred shouldn't be taxable, but I still have to file a form 1099-R and prepare a substitute Form 4852. I have done so, but I have some additional questions:

1) Since no tax should be deducted, can I just put $0.00 under "taxable amount"?

2) What distribution code should I use? I assumed it would be type G, but I just want to confirm: In order to transfer the money from the two retirement plans, the first one sent me a check payable to my new 401(k) retirement plan. I received the check, and mailed it to my new 401(k). I never took actual custody of the funds, but I did receive a check to deposit. Would this still qualify as a direct transfer? If it's an indirect, what distribution code should I use?

3) Are there any other important boxes in form 1099-R I should pay attention to?

Thank you so much for your help in advance! Especially considering that taxes are due tomorrow :(

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

I received a 1042-S with income code 15, Chapter 3, exemption code 02. I know this is a foreign person form, but I am a resident alien. How can I enter this information in TT?

@salberti77 , I am totally confused  here.