Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I amend the 2022 return for Roth IRA corrective distributions before 2022 tax due date?

Hi TurboTax Community:

I’m a CA resident and because of natural disasters, IRS has automatically extended the 2022 tax due date to Nov 16, 2023.

I contributed $6,000 (non-deductible) to the IRA and was planning to do a backdoor conversion. However, I made a mistake by recharacterizing the money to Roth IRA in June 2023. After realizing the mistake, I did an early withdrawal in Sep 2023 of the same amount ($6,000, no gain/loss) because my income has exceeded the MAGI limit. 

Noticed that all these happened before the tax due date last year (Nov 16, 2023).

This year, I received 2 1099-R forms: [1] 1099-R for IRA (Box 7: R), [2] 1099-R for Roth IRA (Box 7: JP). 

When filing my 2023 tax return, TurboTax has indicated that I need to amend my 2022 return.

My questions are:

How do I amend my 2022 tax return? Do I report both 1099-R forms (Box 7: R and Box 7: JP) in 2022? Or should I report the recharacterization (Box 7: R) in 2022 but early withdrawal (Box 7: JP) in the 2023 tax return?

And I should be exempted from any penalty since the contribution was non-deductible and I’ve made the corrective distributions before the due date, is this correct?

Thank you very much for your professional help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

How do I amend the 2022 return for Roth IRA corrective distributions before 2022 tax due date?

"You wll attach a statement explaining why all that money is not to be taxed."

I said this because IRS instructions say to do it.