Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

chay
Level 1

As an international student, should I return the EIP benefit ($1200 tax refund due to Covid-19 crisis) to IRS? or can I use the benefit?

Dear,

I hope you are doing well in these challenging times.
I am an international student in USA, a recent graduate student completing a master's degree in Fall 2019. After finishing my master's degree, I went back to my home.

Before moving back to my home, I went to the Human Resource office at  my university frequently to complete my tax submission (I had worked as a TA for Fall 2019). In the process of preparing my tax application, the Human Resource office told me that I needed to submit my tax application like an american because I had lived in USA for more than 10 years (according to the office, my status was different from other international students because I had lived in USA for more 10 years, had a social security number since 2012, had a history of paying taxes). Therefore, I followed the instruction. I changed my mailing address to my home address (international address). Consequently, I got all the necessary documents. As a result, I used Turbo Tax to submit my tax applications, and the website told me that I succeeded to submit all the necessary information. After completing the submission, I got back the tax refund.