Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

2023 SECURES ACT 2.0 LEO deduction for $3000.00

I am a retired police officer, taking a disability pension award in 2023 that is 100% tax free. I qualify under the 2023 SECURES ACT 2.0 to take a $3000.00 deduction based on health care costs I paid. The TurboTax 2023 platform provides no place to take the deduction. The nice ladies at support that called me back were helpful and friendly, but neither they, their supervisors or experts on this platform can answer how I am able to use the platform and take the deduction. This act corrected things for public safety employees from the original HELPS ACT but it does not seem that the TurboTax 2023 product allows the option to take this $3K deduction. The suggestion of writing "PSO" on line 5b of the 1040 doesn't help because my amount is tax free. Help?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

30 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

You mention that you receive a tax fee disability pension which I assume is separate from the $3,000 medical deduction that you are concerned about. Most health care costs are allowable as itemized deductions. To be of benefit to you, the total of your medical expenses have to be over 7.5% of your adjusted gross income and the total of your itemized deductions have to be greater than your standard deductions to benefit you. You would enter them in the Deductions and Credits section of TurboTax, under the Medical section, and then Medical Expenses.