Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

howhusky4302020
Returning Member

Stimulus Check for Me?

My parents filed their 2018 return and claimed me in 2018 as I was a student. I worked a short period of time in 2018 and filed my own 2018 return(I checked the box, someone else can claim you as a dependent) and received my 2018 refund through my bank account.

Now for 2019: My parents haven't filed their 2019 taxes yet and they are not going to claim me when they do file 2019.  Their stimulus check (received) was based on their 2018 return. I worked all of 2019 and as I stated earlier, my parents are not claiming me.  I filed my 2019 tax return through turbo tax on April 14, 2020. I owe IRS and I chose to pay with 1040-Voucher by mail and I will do so before July 15, 2020.  Because I owe, there is no bank account information listed on my 2019 return. 

My Concern: The IRS may have already deemed me ineligible due to my parents having claimed me in 2018 and having received their stimulus payment as I explained above. When I check the status of my stimulus payment on irs.gov,  it comes up as, "status not available". 

My Question: Will the fact that I filed my 2019 tax return trigger a sort of update to IRS and that I do qualify for a stimulus check? And if so, will they use my bank info from 2018 (claimed by parents) OR MAIL the payment based on my 2019 tax return (owe IRS/no bank info on 2019 return/not claimed by parents/no longer a student/college grad 2018)?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

Stimulus Check for Me?