Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Will I owe tax on this rental property?

My brother, sister and I have recently inherited my mother's house in Colorado. It is divided equally. My sister lives in the house with her son. My brother and I live out of state. My sister's rent comes out of her share of the value of the house. Her son pays $500 a month for rent. He signed a lease in November and has paid 2 months rent for 2020. All the money we collect for rent goes into an account for paying taxes, insurance and up keep of the property. It is not intended to be a profit for any of us. So, I'm new to this. Will I have to report this on my tax form? I live in NY. Or do I report it in CO? Or, not at all? If I have to report it are there deductions I can make? I'm confused. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

Yes, you report the income in your home state of NY.  A nonresident is required to file a Colorado income tax return if they:

• are required to file a federal income tax return, and
  • had taxable Colorado-sourced income.

Nonresidents will initially determine their Colorado taxable income as though they are full-year residents. Nonresident of Colorado will complete the Colorado Individual Income Tax Return (DR 0104) and the Nonresident Tax Calculation Schedule (DR 0104PN) to determine what income will be claimed on the DR0104 form.

How your report the rental income depends on whether you have a profit motive. If so, it is reported on Schedule E. If not, a not-for-profit rental is reported as Other Income.

Not Rented for Profit