Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Missy008
Returning Member

Reporting step up basis on rental property from death of spouse property in california but we lived in Colorado at the time of his death

I understand California is a community property state but at the time of my husband death in 2021 we lived in Colorado I am now a resident of Arizona since 2022 and was told I needed to report on my 2022 taxes the step up basis and property depreciation.  Since the property is located in a community property state do I use the fair market value of the property on the date of my husband death 100% also what about the property depreciation that has accrued on the property prior to his death

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
JamesG1
Expert Alumni

Reporting step up basis on rental property from death of spouse property in california but we lived in Colorado at the time of his death

Use the fair market value (FMV) of the land and building on the date of death. 

I assume that you owned 50% of the property and you inherited 50% of the property.  So if the original cost of the asset was $100,000 and the stepped up valuation is now $300,000, only the inherited 50% of the property will be stepped up.  The stepped up basis will computed as follows:

Original cost of inherited portion                                                       $50,000

Stepped up value of inherited portion  ($150,000 - $50,000) =   $100,000

Value of inherited portion                                                                     $150,000

Original cost of your 50% ownership                                                  $50,000