Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mbrady214

This is my first year using Turbotax. How do I enter my previously calculated rental house yearly depreciation and prior depreciation total into Turbotax?

I have been depreciating my rental house since 2008.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
JulieR
Expert Alumni

This is my first year using Turbotax. How do I enter my previously calculated rental house yearly depreciation and prior depreciation total into Turbotax?

After you complete the Rental Profile information, you'll go to the Assets/Depreciation section and click Start/Update.  Follow the program prompts until you reach the screen that says Confirm Your Prior Depreciation (see sample screenshot below).  You'll repeat this process for each of the Rental Assets you need to enter. 

CHANEY905
Returning Member

where is this Prior Depreciation Box  located, I cant find it ????

Carl
Level 15

If you will just work through the rentals section the way it is designed and intended to be used, when you enter the "in service" date (which will be a prior year) then a later screen will ask you for prior year's depreciation already taken.

To get that amount, look at the 2018 IRS Form 4562 for that property and add together the amounts in the "prior year depr" and "current year depr" boxes and enter that total into the TurboTax program.

To keep things consistent, you should enter each asset into the TurboTax program exactly the same way it is entered on the 2018 IRS Form 4562.