Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

harrashid
Returning Member

passive activity loss carryover

Looking for some help:

• My Schedule E has 4 rental properties and I sold one in 2023.  
  • I have been carrying passive activity loss for several years. In my 2022 return, passive activity loss carryover for all rental properties is $52,000 total
  • For 2023, real estate loss is 23,000 for all properties on Schedule E
  • For the rental property I sold, the total gain including depreciation recapture is $100,000 (line 24 on form 4797). 
  • Schedule D shows $100,000 as net long-term capital gain (line 15)

Question: Where does accumulated passive activity come into play? I am assuming, I can deduct all of the accumulated passive activity carryover loss from all properties (that is $52,000) from the $100,000 gain.  As well as $23,000 loss from 2023.  Is this the right assumption?  If so, where does it all come together?  Schedule D or E?  

Thanks for your help

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

passive activity loss carryover

You can deduct your suspended losses to the extent you have a gain on sale of rental property and rental income in the current year.