Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

bioguy

How do I report the passive loss carryover from previous years when I sell all shares of an MLP? First time I'm using TT, so it is not automatically entered for me .

I sold all shares of an MLP.  I entered the information I received on my 1099-B and K-1, making necessary adjustments to the sales proceeds and cost basis to make sure the sales was listed only once with the correct values for ordinary gain and capital gain.  Since this is my first time using TT, I also manually entered the passive loss carryover for this MLP from previous years.  I'm using the online version of TT and entered the passive loss carryover in a box labeled "Long Term - Sale of Partnership Interest Capital Loss".  However, I don't think I entered it in the right place because none of my current income was offset by the passive loss carryover.  How do I fix this?
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

How do I report the passive loss carryover from previous years when I sell all shares of an MLP? First time I'm using TT, so it is not automatically entered for me .

I figured it out!

See the below screenshot.

It's in the Rentals section.  When you get to the listing of the type of properties, choose Other.  The next screen is the one you want.

Thanks for the challenge!

The box that you entered it in is for current year losses only.

To enter prior year losses to be treated as a carryover:

1.       Click Federal on the left-hand side menu.

2.       Click Income across the top.

3.       Scroll down to Investment Income and click Show more.

4.       Click Start or Revisit by Capital Loss Carryover.

bioguy