turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

pottaanon
Returning Member

Foreign Capital gains tax If I am present in the US for less than 183 days

Heads Up , My question is with regards to the publication 519.

I am not a green card holder or US citizen.( I am still on a H1B Visa)
And I have been a Tax resident from 2017 - 2020( in the USA all days of each year).

In 15th Jan 2021 I came to my home country( India)
And planning to come back to the US in August 2021.
So my total stay in the US will be less than 183 days for the year 2021.

--> I sold a real estate property and some stocks in my home country
Question: is the real estate and stock sale that happened in my home country subject to capital gains tax in USA? I am asking because I stayed less than 183 days in the US.
PS:- I understand my US salary income is taxed even for the year 2021, since I will meet the substantial presence test.

I am referring to   Page 22 Chapter 4 of the publication P519.

It says,  " If you were in the United States for less than 183 days during the tax year, capital gains (other than gains listed earlier) are tax exempt unless they are effectively connected with a trade or business in the United States during your tax year."

I want to be sure that I am reading the document correctly or I am just picking something out of context ?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
pk
Level 15
Level 15

Foreign Capital gains tax If I am present in the US for less than 183 days

@pottaanon , if I understand your scenario correctly:

(a) you a Resident for Tax purposes  and have been so  for a few years;

(b) you are on H-1B visa which has not expired i.e. it is still current