Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Depreciation is showing as zero

This is my first year using TurboTax.  I had an accountant fix my taxes last year for a rental property as I hadn't been taking depreciation correctly.  The property was first put into service in 2007 and the depreciation schedule should be 27.5 years.  I entered the prior depreciation from last year's return and the depreciation for this year should be the same as for last year.  However, it's showing up as zero.  The asset isn't fully depreciated as I'm only 15 years into the 27.5.  Why is it showing up as zero?  Is there a way to manually enter the correct number based on the depreciation schedule I receive from the accountant?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

Try using the following steps to replicate the same depreciation that was being used on your previous tax return.  Also, be sure that the percentage of business use is correct and not set to zero.

• Start from the Schedule C or Schedule E section of your return until you get to the Assets/Depreciation section.
  • Proceed to the point where you are adding an asset on the page titled Describe This Asset.
  • In order to enter the asset exactly as it has been reported in the past, choose the last option on the list, Intangibles, Other Property, then click Continue.
  • On the next page titled, Tell Us a Little More, select Other asset type, then click Continue.
  • Enter the detailed information about the asset:  description, cost, date purchased or acquired.  Click Continue.
  • Move forward with additional details on the next screen, then click Continue.
  • Select the appropriate Asset Class, then click Continue.